Passionate About Columbia SC
and the Moms Who Live Here

15 Ideas for Making the Most of Spring Break in Columbia

15 Ideas for Making the Most of Spring Break in Columbia | Columbia SC Moms BlogSpring Break will be here soon! Let us help you plan … whether you are looking for books for your child to read, parks/playgrounds to visit, or Spring Break Camps – we’ve got you covered! 

5 Books to Read

Spring Break gives you and your child time to sit and read (or listen to) books you may not otherwise have time for. Here are some to try!

1. For little ones

Little ones will love reading books by Todd Parr. Simple, colorful, and delightful, these are books you will not mind reading over and over again. And, the illustrations are simple enough that your child could write and illustrate their own Todd Parr inspired book!

2. For emergent readers

Emergent readers who love Elephant & Piggie will enjoy Willems’ new series of books “hosted” by the two friends – “Elephant & Piggie Like Reading.” These books are written by various authors, but still have the fun and silly vibe of other Willems books. 

3. For early readers

Does your early reader love Junie B. Jones by Parks? How about branch out to the Dory Fantasmagory series? Dory is a sassy little girl who loves to use her imagination. 

4. For elementary school age

Have you read The One and Only Ivan by Applegate with your elementary school age child? It is a wonderful book, based on a true story, about Ivan, the shopping mall gorilla. Pair it with the non-fiction companion and research gorillas online or at the zoo!

5. For high school age

Reading is important for your child in high school too! Young adult and adult readers need to read The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. Read it together. This book will inspire meaningful discussion between you and your teen. 

5 Parks/Playgrounds/Attractions to Visit

You don’t have to do all your reading at home! Take one of those books and hit the road with a picnic. We have wonderful parks around us! Visit one each day!

1. Irmo Community Park

Irmo Community Park is my favorite. There is a stage where your little one (or big one) can pretend to perform, lots of steps to climb, various playground equipment to make children of all ages happy (even toddlers and babies) and lots of room to walk and ride bikes. 

2. Play area on Bower Parkway

Do you know about the cute play area next to British Bulldog Pub on Bower Parkway? Grab some ice cream after a movie and hit the play area to slide and run around. There are plenty of benches around for sitting and reading.

3. The Horseshoe

Visit The Horseshoe on the campus of The University of South Carolina. Bring a blanket and let your little one run loose. Great open space and fantastic people watching.

4. Local museums

South Carolina State Museum has a great play area for toddlers downstairs, near the art gallery (The Discovery Room) and, of course, you can spend a whole day exploring the museum and including a visit to EdVenture next door. 

5. Falls Park on the Reedy

Falls Park on the Reedy in Greenville. This one is a day trip, but well worth it! Leave town in the morning and make a day of everything Greenville has to offer, but make sure you spend a large chunk of your time at this park. Beautiful flowers, waterfalls, walking paths, and lots of places to pull out a blanket and read! 

5 Spring Break Camps

Just because your child is on Spring Break, doesn’t mean you are too. If you need to find somewhere for your kiddo to go for the week, explore these camps!

1. Riverbanks Zoo “Animal Outlaws” Camp for ages 5 – 9

From the zoo’s website, “Come explore the softer side of the wild kingdom’s most rebellious public enemies. Spring Break Camp includes daily animal encounters, behind the scene tours, zoo walks, arts and crafts, games and more!” Find out more details and register

2. South Carolina State Museum Spring Break Camp for ages 6 – 13

From SCSM’s website, “Each day will focus on a different subject matter from science to history and art.” Find out more details and register.

3. EdVenture Children’s Museum Spring Break Camp for ages 4 – 12

From EdVenture’s website, “Camp EdVenture is open to the public and offers a variety of camps for campers ages 4–12. Fun, hands-on activities keep children busy, happy and learning all day long.” Find out more details and register.

4. YMCA of Columbia Spring Break Camp for ages 5 – 14

From the YMCA website, “There will be games, sports, arts and crafts, and STEM activities throughout the camp week.” Find out more details and register at a location near you.

5. Gym Camps

My Gym (Northeast), Brussels Gymnastics (Irmo), and All Star Gymnastics (Irmo) all offer Spring Break Camps for a variety of age groups. Call the one closest to you for more information. 

What are your plans for Spring Break?

, , ,

2 Responses to 15 Ideas for Making the Most of Spring Break in Columbia

  1. Lee Patterson March 31, 2017 at 6:20 am #

    We’re definitely going to head to the zoo one day as well.

Leave a Reply

HTML Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com